TESTING MY LIMITS

A year ago, when it came to limits and comfort zones I thought of going up on stage or in a crowd filled with people and having to speak or do something. That was way beyond anything I found comfortable. I guess the fear of getting embarrassed or choking on my own words took the best of me. When I came to Stonyhurst Southville International School, the people, activities, and events slowly helped me step out of that line of limit and pushed me beyond it. Mr. Benny Hiwatig and Ms. Jeanne Marie Lago specifically, always encouraged their students to take initiative and give their best efforts. Their advice or their comments on how you’d make them proud would always strike a spark in their students to do better or keep doing what they’re doing. I’m very glad I got to be one of their many students and listeners.

Now, I don’t limit myself anymore. I don’t say “I can’t do that”, but I tell myself “I’m going to give it a try” instead. I’m always going to test if I can do it and if I can’t, I’m going to find a way to bring myself to that capability and peak because if I don’t try, I’ll never know. My advice is, never limit yourself. Many people limit themselves to what they think they can do, but they never give it a go. Trust me, you can go as far as you want. When you believe, you can achieve. Accept your limits and then test them. Just like the famous Albert Einstein once said, “Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them.” The only time you have to limit your own limits is when it’s eating you up and changing you in a negative way. One time a guy didn’t recognise his limits and guess what happened to him? He became Hitler.

The only limits for tomorrow are the doubts we have today. A person is capable of doing many great things; most of which they don’t believe and realise till they’re put to the test of it. As my father once told me, “Never limit your challenges. Challenge your limits.”

Leave a Reply

