FOOTBALL BRINGS OUT THE BEST IN ME

When it comes to thinking of what I do best, football comes to mind. Football was always thought of as a sports for boys. I remember always hearing guys yell out “Go back to the kitchen” and “Make me a sandwich” whenever I had a football ball between my feet. The judgements and their believe of a girl ever playing football as good as the guys made me want to be better till I prove them wrong. That’s when I realised I have to dig a little deeper and fight a little harder to prove to the doubters something. Football makes me want to be the best I can be.

The hours of practice and the coaches who pushed me, the losses in games and wins in many, the advises from bigger people, and chants from teammates and supporters – all made me the athlete I am today. I’d like to quote the famous female goalkeeper, Hope Solo, who once said “True Heroes are made of hard work and integrity.”, as well as the forward, Alex Morgan, who said “Whatever brings you down will eventually make you stronger” and with that, it did. I took the recipe for success and I gave it a shot. I believe that things turn out the best for the people who make the best out of the way things turn out.

I play for the people who stood by side when the referee would whistle me a foul, the people who picked me up when I was kicked to my last strength, the people who dedicated wins for me and the people who bring good vibes to the locker room when the game is all over despite a loss. When our knees were scraped, our heads were sweaty, and our cleats were muddy, our hearts pushed us to keep going in the game. If it weren’t for my teammates, I wouldn’t give my best.

Now, many people say I’m the best football player they’ve seen. I don’t think so, but because of that, maybe one day I will be.

Dreams don’t work unless you do. Wanting to do your best has to come within you. You have to remember who you’re doing it for and why. You have to picture the idea and then actually run after it. An idea not put to action is an idea wasted. It’s all about what you make out of the situation and how much you’ve given. You’re only going to be as good as the people you surround yourself with, so stick with the people who bring good vibes in your life and bring out the best in you. Stick with hobbies that bring out the best in you.

SGEN cup
Me (in the dark jersey) going forward and dribbling past three defenders during the SGEN Cup 2015-2016.
Leave a Reply

