A CONVERSATION I IMAGINED #2

“I loved her,” he said,
“I think a part of me always will love her. She made me feel alive and after years on this planet I finally felt like someone understood me, I don’t believe in soul mates much but I do believe that I was meant to meet her. But months passed and she tried so hard to make me a better person because lord knows I didn’t treat her half as good as I should’ve. I loved her but I struggled to show it, I struggled to let anyone in enough for them to know me because I was too damn afraid of letting someone fuck me up even more than I already am. So instead I had to let her go and my god I won’t ever forget the look on her face or how much her eyes glistened from the tears she was trying to hold back when I told her I was leaving. 
But I had to let her go because I knew what was best for her, and it wasn’t me.”

Leave a Reply

